Groupie Moment: Countdown to Kinzer

Late last night my husband and I had just settled into bed. He had worked one of his extended days that seemed to start the day before, and I was looking adoringly at him…so thankful for him. I thought about how in that moment I loved him more than when I woke up yesterday morning.

Then, I did what any loving wife would do…I opened my iPad and went onto Twitter. It was in that moment when I saw a tweet from one of my favorite authors, Stephen Kinzer. He announced that he was going to be in Pasadena (California) tonight (Feb. 13, 2017). Excitedly, like a hyper-puppy greeting its owner as she walks in the door, I was all over my husband and mentioned the event.

tweet_kinzerevent_trueflag_vroomans-bookstore

He told me we could go, and a long-held dream of mine (to meet Kinzer) was suddenly going to come true in the only way that it could ever happen…because it was a gift from the man I love more than the air I breathe. My husband is giving of his time, hard-earned money, and making the drive, all for the woman he loves. I am so grateful to him and idolize him more than anyone else on the planet.

So, tonight, my husband and I will be in a different area of the planet…which can take one and one-half to three hours to get there, from where we live, depending upon traffic. And, when is there ever not traffic in Southern California!!! I am sharing a link to the event details on the Vroman’s Bookstore web-site.

Event: Stephen Kinzer Discussion and Book Signing
Subject: His Newest Book–The True Flag: Theodore Roosevelt, Mark Twain, and the Birth of American Empire
Details: Vroman’s Bookstore

To say that I am excited is an incredible understatement. I have already read a few of Kinzer’s works, but I figured that his piece titled, “The Brothers: John Foster Dulles, Allen Dulles & Their Secret World War” would be my next read of his. But, I’ve been naughty by not keeping up on my Kinzer reads. What kind of a groupie am I??? These are his books that I have already read:

*All the Shah’s Men: An American Coup and the Roots of Middle East Terror
*Overthrow: America’s Century of Regime Change from Hawaii to Iraq
*A Thousand Hills: Rwanda’s Rebirth and the Man Who Dreamed It (My favorite of his, so far!)
*Reset: Iran, Turkey, and America’s Future

I would love to read about any of Stephen Kinzer’s works that you have read and what you thought about them. In the meantime, I’ll be doing two things as once: 1.) spoiling my husband all day to express my utmost gratitude; and, 2.) doing my countdown to Kinzer.

4 thoughts on “Groupie Moment: Countdown to Kinzer

  1. Pingback: Groupie Moment: Countdown to Kinzer (Part Two) | Streed's Reads

  2. Pingback: February 2017 Reading and Blogging Wrap-up | Streed's Reads

Leave a Reply

